EVCA overhauls board

The European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (EVCA) has unveiled 11 new members of its board of directors, replacing current members who have either reached the end of their tenure or are stepping down.

The new directors are André-Xavier Cooremans, chief operating officer of Belgian firm Sofinim who also becomes treasurer of EVCA; Ole Mikkelsen, CEO of Scandinavian Equity Partners; Andreas Schober, deputy chairman of mid-market firm Hannover Finanz; Pantelis Vernikos, managing director of the Greek Alpha Ventures; Craig Butcher, senior partner at Mid-Europe Partners in Hungary; private equity veteran Fred Van Efferink,a partner at Dutch house ICOS; Katryn Baker, a partner at Norwegian firm Reiten & Co; Paulo Caetano of Portuguese outfit Fomentinvest; Jaime Hernandez Soto, managing partner of MCH Private Equity in Spain; Anne Rannaleet, chairman of IK Investment Partner’s Industrial Advisory Board in Sweden; and Jirí Beneš, investor director of Central and Eastern European growth capital firm 3TS Capital.

Members of the EVCA Board are elected annually by the EVCA Assembly General. The board is composed of up to 30 people, who may serve up to four terms. Countries with at least three full members of the association are eligible to have one board member. Countries with at least 25 EVCA full Members are entitled to two board members.

The role of the board is to oversee EVCA’s budget and strategic annual review, and it is responsible for establishing the association’s Professional Standards and observance of these by members. The board also appoints members to the executive committee.

The association recently named Jonathan Russell, managing partner in the buyouts team at 3i, as chairman, replacing TVM Capital’s Helmut Schühsler.

This is EVCA’s 25th anniversary year, and now has over 1,200 members across 53 countries.