Private equity firms

Pan-emerging markets private equity firm Actis has appointed Sachin Korantak as head of industrials and Andreas von Paleske as director of consumer. Sachin will lead the global team. Korantak has 20 twenty years of leadership experience in the United States, Japan, and India most recently at the aircraft maker Sikorsky, while von Paleske spent nearly a decade working at Lion Capital. Both Sachin and Andreas will be based in Actis’s London office.

The Carlyle Group has named Peter Malone as an operating executive in the global aerospace, defense and government services group. Previously, Malone was the founding partner of CSP Associates.

Alternative investment manager Investcorp has hired Gary Appel as vice chairman of corporate investment – North America. Prior to joining Investcorp, Appel, who is based in the company’s New York office, worked at Bear Stearns where he served as a senior managing director.

New York-based private equity firm Southport Lane has named Brandon Young as senior vice president. He has also been named chief operating officer of its reinsurance holding company Southport Re. Previously, Young worked at ACE Ltd, where he served as vice president of global corporate development.

R. Stephen Hannahs and Two Sigma Private Investments have formed Wings Capital Partners. The firm will focus on making investments in and providing strategic advice and financing to the aviation industry.

Wynnchurch Capital has expanded its executive advisory board with two new additions. They are Jim Goodwin and Joe Anderson. Goodwin is the former chairman and CEO of UAL Corp and United Airlines while Anderson is the former chairman, CEO and majority owner of TAG Holdings. Wynnchurch Capital is a mid-market private equity firm.

Mezzanine investor Yukon Partners has added Aaron Arnett to its team as a director. Arnett was a previously a vice president at the Pohlad Cos, where he was responsible for private equity and mezzanine debt direct investment origination and served on the Pohlad investment committee.